ACB announced 17 Member of Afghanistan Team for Asia Cup 2022

As we all know that Asia Cup 2022 will take place at UAE on last week of this August and today Afghanistan Cricket Board announced their 17 member Afghanistan team for Asia Cup 2022.

ACC organized the Asia Cup for the battle between Asian Teams. This year Asia Cup 2022 will be played in T20 format before the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Sri Lanka was the hosting country for this year but the country was faced some political issues that’s why they handed over to ACC to organized the event. ACC has selected UAE for the tournament.


As we all know that most of the team has announced the team for their Asia Cup squad, today Afghanistan Cricket Board announced their 17 member for the Afghanistan team. Among them 16 team members are currently playing against Ireland ongoing T20 Series. Sharafuddin Ashraf has been removed, and now Samiullah Shinwari, Qais Ahmad, and Nijat Masoud are the event’s reserve players. Noor Ahmad, a left-arm wrist spinner who was benched for the Ireland series in favor of Mujeeb Ur Rahman, has also made his way to the team.


Chief selector of ACB Noor Malikzai said: “We have chosen our top players for the Asia Cup since it is a significant tournament for us. For the Asia Cup, Samiullah Shinwari has been added to the roster. He is in excellent shape and can help the batting unit, which already has Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, and Mohammad Nabi, gain more momentum. Despite the fact that Shinwari hasn’t competed in an international match since March 2020, but he did well in the most recent Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and showed that he is a viable alternative to bolster our middle order.

You can also read: BCCI announced the squad of team India for Asia Cup 2022

Afghanistan Team for Asia Cup 2022
Mohammad Nabi is the captain of the Afghanistan team for the ACC T20 Asia Cup, along with Najibullah Zadran (Vice Captain), Afsar Zazai (Wicket Keeper), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen The three players that act as the team’s reserves are Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf.



Afghanistan Team is now playing against Ireland for 5 match T20 series, After playing Ireland on Wednesday in the series finale, the squad will go for the Asia Cup in the UAE.


You can also read: BCB announces Bangladesh Squad for Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022

Group A: India, Pakistan and Qualifier ( UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong and Singapore- One to qualify)

Group B: Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka

27 August 2022Afghanistan Vs Sri Lanka (Dubai-DSC)
30 August 2022Afghanistan Vs Bangladesh (Sharjah)
3-9 Sep 2022Group Four Matches




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *